Category: SciFi

The Orbital Sword: Persepolis Rising

David, Scott, and Jim once again board the Orbital Sword and head into the cosmos to report on the activities of the crew of the Rocinante while they discuss the seventh book in James S.A. Corey’s Expanse series. Persepolis Rising joins the action thirty years after the events of the last book. Holden and Naomi look forward to retirement and …

Continue reading

Babylon’s Ashes

David, Scott, and Jim are proud to bring you their impressions of the sixth novel in the Expanse series by James S.A. Corey, Babylon’s Ashes.  Our intrepid crew explore this segment of the story that envisions the aftermath of the Free Navy’s attacks against Earth and the Martian Navy, as well as Marco Inaros’ plans …

Continue reading

The Green Knight (Space Lore Book 1)

The Orbital Sword once again takes flight with an unusual episode. The crew discusses The Green Knight by Chris Dietzel which is touted to be a sci-fi/fantasy mashup in the vein of Star Wars and Arthurian Legend. What makes this an unusual episode is while Jim read the whole book, Scott read about 75% of it, and …

Continue reading

Ep: 21 Cibola Burn

On this episode of the Orbital Sword, David, Scott, and Jim discuss Cibola Burn, the 4th book in the Expanse series by James S.A. Corey.  The giant gate is open end humanity is chomping at the bit to explore, colonize, and exploit what they find at the other end of the wormholes that the gate has to offer. One …

Continue reading

Ep: 19 Abaddon’s Gate

Welcome to the Orbital Sword, your guide to reading in the Sci-Fi and Fantasy genres. On this episode, join the crew as they delve into Abaddon’s Gate by  James S.A. Corey, the third book in the expanse series. The protomolecule has finished it’s work on Venus and has built a gate of wormholes near the …

Continue reading